Monday, April 18, 2011

Shoe Review #3

I called Mom last Friday afternoon, asking if she would join me at DSW to look for some new shoes before my $10 off coupon expired on Sunday. She had a coupon, too, so we braved the cold on Friday night and visited the newly made over DSW close to us.

I went, looking to replace 2 pair of black leather sandals that I've worn out. They are very comfortable, but the straps have stretched out from numerous wears and I needed something new for work and this spring/summer. Sadly, I didn't find exactly what I was looking for ... but ... I did try on these sandals made by Crocs. {The straps look navy in this top picture, but they are actually black.}

I know that many people are anti-Crocs, but I really do think they're comfortable. You get used to the bumps on the sole and the soft base make them nice to walk in. I bought this black pair for $29.99 (and then $10.00 off) and I'm already loving them. Originally, I thought they would just be for bumming around this summer, but I think they look a bit nicer than my regular Old Navy flip flops.

I wore them to school today (I did touch up my nail-polish after taking these pictures) and my feet felt great all day. These came in brown, too. I'm tempted to go back & get that pair, but I rarely wear brown in the summer. If you are looking for comfy sandals and you can get over any issues you may have with Crocs, then you should check these out.

Pin It!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Are any of these a surprise to my readers?

Found this list on another blog I read regularly. Thought it would be fun to share about me.

Age: 29, just a month away from the big 3-0.
Bed Size: Double. I'd like to get a queen the next time I'm mattress shopping, but that will also mean a new bed frame.
Chore you hate: Putting away clean laundry. Cleaning the shower.
Dogs: A Schnoodle, Minnie. She just turned 5.
Essential start of your day: REALLY getting up after snoozing on all 3 alarms.
Favorite Color: Pink - duh!
Gold or silver: I like both, but probably wear more silver.
Height: 5'8.5"
Instruments I play (or have played): I played the cello for 2 years in elementary school. Now ... not so much. Does my iPod count as an instrument?
Job Title: 4th grade teacher.
Kids: None.
Live: Overland Park. Almost my entire life has been in this great city.
Mom's Name: Caroline.
Nickname: Bets.
Overnight hospital stays: I think one night in elementary school and then one night in high school.
Pet Peeve: Slow drivers. Stubborn people who don't admit when they are wrong.
Quote from a movie: So many great ones. The one that *just* came to my mind, "Reg. Bev. Wil."
Right or left handed: Right.
Siblings: Older sister, Molly. Brother-in-law, Erik.
Time you wake up: Alarms start to go off around 6:15. Depending on how much I need to do in the morning, I get out of bed between 7:00 and 7:30. Maybe this is why I'm usually rushing to work.
Underwear: Target or GAP Body.
Vegetables you dislike: Squash. Raw onions.
What makes you run late: Normally it's sleeping too late in the morning. Other times are because I don't plan for time to take Minnie out.
X-rays you've had done: Dental x-rays. X-ray of my ankle when I fell about 4 years ago.
Yummy food you make: I make sweets that are yummy and I also like to make certain casseroles. None of them are original recipes.
Zoo animal: Loving our local polar bear. I also like giraffes.

Pin It!

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Is this my next project?

Do we think I'm ready for stop-motion photography?

It took me a few seconds to really understand how this would have been done. Check out the clock, too. The comments on YouTube say that this organization took 13 hours. Amazing!

I think this video is absolutely lovely. I was thinking about the logistics of doing this video for days after first seeing it. The song is nice, too.

Something to work towards ... who wants to help?

Pin It!